​成功案例

星巴克在进入中国时做了什么?

中国不是一个单一的营销和运营策略将在全国范围内运作的同质市场。 生活在中国不同地区的人们的口味和文化存在差异。 星巴克在 1999 年进入中国市场时注意到了这种复杂性,并与中国的三个区域合作伙伴合作,能力各异。 这三个合作伙伴是北京美达咖啡公司、台湾统一和香港美心餐饮。 这些合作伙伴多年的经验和对当地顾客口味和喜好的了解帮助星巴克以正确的方式迎合中国顾客。 在2017年,星巴克获得了其在中国的门店的全部所有权,因为它在中国有足够的运营经验。

 

Summer Atlantic Capital 知道,重要的不是当地合作伙伴的可用性,而是合适的业务合作伙伴的可用性。 根据我们对您的技术的技术评估和我们最初的市场评估过程,我们为客户制定了最佳的合作伙伴关系要求。 了解正确伙伴关系的参数至关重要。

优步与百度的战略合作

2014年,市值1000亿美元的打车服务提供商优步与中国最大的搜索引擎公司百度达成战略合作伙伴关系。 这种合作关系使优步能够将他们的汽车预订服务与百度地图相结合,这是中国互联网巨头自己的导航服务。 此外,百度的移动搜索应用程序被配置为在用户进行旅行或与地点相关的查询时显示优步出租车的建议。 优步达成这笔交易的另一个原因是它想利用百度的应用分发服务,包括运营中国一些最大应用商店的"91 无线"。 这有助于优步更好地了解中国市场,并在中国市场非常积极地推动其服务。

 

这种伙伴关系对于优步在中国的吸引力至关重要。  Summer Atlantic Capital 拥有可以帮助您执行此类战略合作伙伴交易的所有专业知识,这些交易旨在通过利用已建立的本地业务网络来积极推动潜在进入者的服务。

 

肯德基:中国最受欢迎的美国快餐连锁店

肯德基于 1987 年在北京开设第一家分店,是第一家进入中国的美国快餐连锁店。 如今,它是中国最受欢迎的快餐连锁店,在全国拥有 6600 多家网点。 肯德基通过与北京旅游局和北京食品生产的合资企业进入中国市场。 公司在香港和台湾已经经历过失败,这次它不想再犯任何错误。 这就是肯德基与强大的本地企业合作以更好地了解区域口味并开发适合中国市场的运营框架的原因。 此外,肯德基没有从美国聘请经理,而是从台湾聘请他们。 如今,肯德基在中国 1200 多个城市开展业务,在中国快餐行业占据主要市场份额。

 

这显示了与中国当地合作伙伴的合作如何帮助您以更细致入微的方式迎合中国目标市场。 无论这种合作伙伴关系是以合资、许可还是分销安排的形式,Summer Atlantic Capital 都有专业知识来指导您完成所有这些。

GROUPON 国际扩张的教训

如果有人想了解西方公司在进入中国市场时应该避免的错误,那么Groupon在中国市场的扩张就是最好的例子之一。Groupon 是美国非常受欢迎的电子商务市场参与者。 公司于2011年2月进入中国市场,与中国大型科技集团腾讯成立名为"高鹏"的合资企业。 在其运营的最初七个月中,Groupon累计净亏损 4640 万美元,收入仅为 210 万美元。 失败的主要原因有两个:一是公司急于进入中国,二是没有适应当地文化。  Groupon 在中国的团队主要是美国人,甚至不会说中文。 它在中国市场确立了自己作为美国公司的地位,这使得公司难以与当地客户建立联系。

  

据专家介绍,Groupon 缺乏如何适应当地市场的指导。 但是,如果您是希望进入中国市场的人,Summer Atlantic Capital 可以在各个方面为您提供指导,包括招募合适的团队和加入真正的供应商合作伙伴。

Salesforce 与阿里巴巴合作拓展中国市场

总部位于旧金山的SaaS巨头Salesforce于2019年与阿里巴巴集团建立了合作伙伴关系,以扩大其在中国市场的影响力。 根据合作伙伴关系,阿里巴巴将成为台湾、香港、澳门和中国大陆企业客户的Salesforce软件的独家供应商。 但是,Salesforce 需要严格遵守中国数据安全法,根据该法,所有公司,特别是在中国开展业务活动的外国企业,都必须将其数据存储在中国境内。 因此,阿里巴巴将成为Salesforce基于云的业务解决方案在中国的官方经销商。 这是西方科技公司在进入中国这样的市场时把事情简化的最好例子之一。  Salesforce 以一项明智的举措获得本地领域的专业知识和庞大的分销渠道。

 

然而,在没有当地专家的情况下,在中国这样复杂的市场进行扩张并不容易。 如果您计划进入中国,Summer Atlantic Capital 可以成为您的一站式指南。 我们利用我们在中国数十年的经验和庞大的本地企业网络,在您中国市场扩张过程的每一步为您提供帮助。

SWIFT在中国的合资企业

总部位于比利时的跨境支付和金融报文服务的全球领导者SWIFT 于 2021 年初在北京成立了一家合资企业。  SWIFT 在该合资企业中的合作伙伴是中国国家清算中心、支付清算中心中国协会和中国跨境银行间支付系统(CIPS)。 新成立的命名为“金融网关信息服务有限公司”的合资企业旨在提供包括信息系统集成、数据处理和技术咨询在内的服务。 该合资企业正在获得在当地开展业务所需的许可证,这可能需要一些时间。 然而,在不久的将来,与中国该行业的一些最大的商业实体合作将有助于 SWIFT。

在目标市场找到合适的合资伙伴绝非易事,当目标市场像中国一样复杂时。  Summer Atlantic Capital 利用我们庞大的本地制造商、分销商和服务提供商网络,确保计划进入中国市场的客户的市场扩张之旅变得更加轻松。

Costco在中国的成功

总部位于美国的杂货零售巨头 Costco 在通过天猫集团获得了五年在中国运营旗舰店的经验后,于 2019 年在上海开设了第一家门店。 该公司最初的经验帮助它确定了产生主要收入的地区。 这有助于公司决定他们第一家实体店的位置。 事情比预期的要好。 开店第一天,Costco 就向上海门店的顾客出售了 139000 个会员资格,由于过度拥挤,当局不得不关闭门店。 对 Costco 起作用的主要因素是精心设计的折扣优惠和完美的市场时机。

 

然而,作为一个组织,很难获得所有本地投入甚至有利位置来构建成功的运营或启动计划。 这就是需要专业知识的地方。  Summer Atlantic Capital 拥有大量经过认证的本地业务合作伙伴网络,可以利用他们的经验使您的市场扩张灵活而全面。

Success Stories

WHAT STARBUCKS DID RIGHT WHILE ENTERING CHINA?

China is not a homogenous market where a single marketing and operations strategy will work across the country. There are differences in tastes and cultures of people living in different regions of China. Starbucks noticed this complexity while entering the Chinese market in the year 1999 and partnered with three regional partners in China, with different capabilities. Those three partners were Beijing Mei Da Coffee Company, Taiwan-based Uni-president, and Hong Kong-based Maxim’s Caterers. These partners’ years of experience and knowledge of the local customer’s tastes and preferences helped Starbucks to cater to the Chinese customers in the right manner. However, in the year 2017, Starbucks acquired full ownership over its outlets in China, when it got the adequate experience of operating in China.

 

Summer Atlantic Capital knows that it is not the availability of local partners, but the availability of suitable business partners that makes the difference. Based on our technical evaluation of your technology and our initial market evaluation process, we develop the optimal partnership requirements for our clients. Understanding the parameters of the right partnership is critical. 

STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIP BETWEEN UBER AND BAIDU

In the year 2014, Uber, the $100 billion market cap cab-hailing service provider, and Baidu, China’s largest search engine company entered into a strategic partnership. This partnership allowed Uber to integrate their car-booking service with Baidu maps, which is the Chinese internet giant’s very own navigation service. Also, Baidu’s mobile search application was configured to display the Uber cab suggestions whenever users make travel or venue-related queries. Another reason that Uber entered into this deal was that it wanted to take advantage of Baidu’s app distribution services, including “91 Wireless” which runs some of the largest app stores in China. This helped Uber to understand the Chinese market better and pushed its services very aggressively in the Chinese market. 

 

This partnership was critical for Uber’s traction in China. Summer Atlantic Capital has all the expertise that can help you in executing such strategic partnership deals, which are intended to push a potential entrant’s services aggressively by tapping the network of an already established local business. 

 

KFC: THE MOST POPULAR US-BASED FAST FOOD CHAIN IN CHINA

KFC was the first US-based fast-food chain that entered China in the year 1987 by opening its first outlet in Beijing. Today, it is the most popular fast-food chain in China, running through more than 6600 outlets in the country. KFC entered the Chinese market through a joint venture with Beijing Tourist Bureau and Beijing Food Production. The company had already experienced failures in Hong Kong and Taiwan, and this time it did not want any mistakes. This was the reason why KFC partnered with strong local businesses to understand the regional tastes better and develop an operational framework tailored for the Chinese market. Also, instead of hiring managers from the US, KFC hired them from Taiwan. Today, KFC operates in more than 1200 cities in China, holding major market share in the fast-food sector in China. 

 

This shows how partnering with local Chinese partners can help you cater to the Chinese target market in a more nuanced manner. Whether such partnership is in the form of Joint Venture, Licensing, or Distributorship arrangement, Summer Atlantic Capital has the expertise to guide you through them all. 

LESSON FROM GROUPON’S INTERNATIONAL EXPANSION

If anyone wants to learn about the mistakes that western companies should avoid while entering the Chinese market, then Groupon’s expansion in the Chinese market is one of the best examples. Groupon is a very popular e-commerce market player in the US. The Company entered the Chinese market in February 2011, by entering into a joint venture named “GaoPeng” with Tencent, a huge technology conglomerate in China. During the initial seven months of its operations, Groupon accumulated $46.4M in net losses with a paltry $2.1M in revenue. There were two major reasons for failure: The Company rushed its entry into China and it also failed to adapt itself to the local culture. Groupon’s team in China was majorly American and couldn’t even speak Chinese. It established itself as an American company in the Chinese market, which made it difficult for the Company to connect with local customers.  

  

According to experts, Groupon lacked guidance on how to be adaptable to the local market. However, if you are someone who is looking to enter the Chinese market, Summer Atlantic Capital can guide you on various aspects, including recruitment of the right team and onboarding genuine vendor-partners. 

SALESFORCE’S PARTNERSHIP WITH ALIBABA TO EXPAND IN THE CHINESE MARKET

Salesforce, the San Francisco-based SaaS giant entered into a partnership with Alibaba Group in 2019, to expand its presence in the Chinese market. As per the partnership, Alibaba will be the exclusive provider of Salesforce software to business customers in Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau, and mainland China. However, Salesforce needs to comply strictly with the Chinese data security laws according to which all companies, especially foreign businesses conducting business activities in China, are required to store their data inside Chinese borders only.  

Thus, Alibaba will act as the official distributor of Salesforce’s cloud-based business solutions in China. This is one of the best examples on how western tech companies can make things easy for themselves while entering a market like China. Salesforce gets local domain expertise and a massive distribution funnel in one smart move. However, it is not easy to expand in complex markets like China without a local expert. Summer Atlantic Capital can become that one-stop guide for you if you are planning to enter China. We use our decades of experience and vast network of local businesses in China, to help you in each step of your Chinese market expansion process.    


 

SWIFT’S JOINT VENTURE IN CHINA

SWIFT, the Belgium-based global leader in cross-border payments and financial messaging services, set up a joint venture in Beijing, at the beginning of the year 2021. SWIFT’s partners in this joint venture are China’s National Clearing Centre, the Payment & Clearing Association of China, and China's Cross-border Interbank Payment System (CIPS). The new venture named “Finance Gateway Information Services Co.” is established to provide services including information system integration, data processing, and technological consultancy. The venture is under the process of obtaining the necessary licenses for beginning its operations locally, which may take some time. However, partnering with some of China’s biggest business entities in the sector will help SWIFT in near future. 

 

It is never easy to find a suitable joint venture partner in the target market, that too when the target market is as complex as China. Summer Atlantic Capital ensures that the market expansion journey of its clients, who are planning to enter the Chinese market, becomes easier by leveraging our vast network of local manufacturers, distributors, and service-providers. 

COSTCO’S SUCCESS IN CHINA

Costco, the US-based grocery retail giant opened its first store in Shanghai in the year 2019, after obtaining five years of experience running a flagship store in China through Tmall Group. The company’s initial experience helped it to identify the regions from where they were generating major revenue. This helped the Company in deciding the location of their first brick and mortar store. Things went better than expectations. On the very first day, Costco sold 139,000 memberships to customers at the Shanghai store and the authorities had to close the store because of overcrowding. Major elements that worked for Costco were well-framed discount offers and perfect market timing. 

 

However, as an organization, it can difficult to have all the local input or even the vantage point to structure a successful operations or launch plan. This is where professional expertise is needed. Summer Atlantic Capital has a massive authenticated network of local business partners, whose experience can be employed to make your market expansion agile yet well-rounded.